NFF elects new president, Alhaji Musa Gusau

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau has been elected as the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).


He had a total of 39 votes to defeat other contestants in the race and was declared winner. 


Musa Gusau who won through the second ballot after the first ballot could not produce a clear cut winner.


Alhaji Musa Gusau
New NFF president Musa Gusau

In the earlier ballot, Musa Ibrahim Gusau scored the highest votes cast. He had 21 votes but could not be declared winner because he did not have 50 percent plus one vote of the total votes cast, which amounted to 22 votes and had to go into second ballot according to FIFA regulation.


Other contestants were Dr. Chris Emeruwa, Amaze Uchegbulam, and David Doherty who couldn’t put up a singular vote. 


However, before the second round of voting, Abiodun Akinwunmi and Abdullahi Yola and Shehu Dikko withdrew from the race, thereby paving way for Peterside and Gusau to slug it out in the new ballot to determine a clear winner.


At the end, Gusau scored 39 votes while Peterside had just one vote.


See also  Int'l Friendly :We are ready to face the Desert Foxes - Peseiro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?